What is the most satisfying part of your job?

·

2 min read

I was asked recently what I thought the most satisfying part of my job as a software engineer was.

It took me a while to figure it out, and I had an answer for him, but somehow it felt like the wrong answer in that conversation:

I said that I like to solve problems. Businesses face loads of unique problems every day, and since I am familiar with technology solutions, I enjoy solving business problems with technology solutions.

It is satisfying for me when a person or company has an issue, and I can fix it for them.

Whether that issue is revenue generation, a particular feature that needs to be developed on an application, or simply streamlining the processes already in place, I love solving problems.

But that got me thinking...

What is everyone else's most satisfying part of the job? Are people happy writing code all day? Is that the part that people enjoy?

Is it the technology?

The work-life balance?

Or maybe it's the level of effort vs dollars earned? I don't know.

I wonder sometimes if I was ever meant to be a software engineer. Not looking to garner sympathy by any means, but I wonder. I don't particularly like coding. It's just a means to an end for me.

This is my itch that I need to scratch: I like solving problems.

Is writing code the best way to accomplish that?

If so, is training to be the best developer the best way to accomplish that?

If it's not, then what?

I'll keep pondering and let you know when I find my answer. What's yours?

Thanks for reading.